Wow, it’s been forever since I’ve written on here. School started and it’s been craziness ever since. This semester entails graduating (!), applying to graduate programs for counseling, assisting in research for a sociology professor, be president of our campus’ pro-choice club, and work at the domestic violence and sexual assault center. Now that I wrote that down it seems like a lot.

But I can handle it.

I think.

The thing that is rocking my world right now is graduate school applications. No one ever tells you as an undergrad how incredibly difficult and complex it is. So many parts, so many applications. I am just diving into it so at this point it seems so overwhelming and it’s hard not to let my anxiety take control. I go between thinking I can do it, to thinking there’s no effing way.

I really want to just be at the point where I can be contempt with taking it one step at a time. And realistically I know I will get all of this done by the due dates if I do that, but my anxiety is a bitch and she tells me that isn’t possible.
I also want to be at the point where I am not taking this whole process for granted. I am lucky I even have the opportunity to be applying to graduate school. There are glimmers of it when I get excited about a professor emailing me back or finding a school that really seems to fit me. But then I get caught up again in the overwhelmingness of it all.

I really just need a drink.

Here’s to the first two weeks of school being over, taking things one step at a time, and not taking it for granted. Cheers!

And cheers to this:

