Today is the first time in a very long time that I have been able to live in the present. Today my inner critic is non-existent, I am not focused on things in the future. I am present in this moment, in this day. I was able to enjoy my bike ride through campus on a beautiful sunny day. I relished my homemade frappuccino. I laughed at my cat’s awkward sleeping pose. And most importantly, my anxiety is practically non-existent. Today is a good day.

Image

I met with my therapist today and it was a great session. I was able to sit back and realize all the things I have going for me and notice that those things are also things I love doing. I have a great job helping those who really need help, I am president of a club whose cause is so very important to me, I graduate in one semester, I am done with my GRE, I am applying to graduate school for counseling in a few short months, I have wonderful friends and family, my cat is the best (I really do like cats πŸ˜‰ ), and overall I am lucky. I am glad I was able to get out of my head today and really take in all those things.

There was something else that made the session great. I talked about this new-found online community. It started out with my therapist talking about a presentation he was going to be making to my campus’ resident hall assistants. We then moved on to talking about the freshmen experience. (I personally would never want to relive my freshmen year, but that’s another story) Basically, how for many people, freshmen year is such a huge transition and it can be really hard and lonely. I then brought up Kaleigh’s hugstronger.org. We looked at the site in session and my therapist thought it was amazing. He is now going to show it to the 100 RA’s at his presentation. From there I talked about the community I have found through blogging. Though I am more of a reader of blogs than a writer I have found this amazing network online of people who are struggling, overcoming, and moving forward. I have read things that I can completely relate to or have been through. It’s scary how similar some of these posts are to my life.

But this has made me realize this: a majority of us struggle with something, but society says mental illness and mental health is something that we shouldn’t talk about. It’s something we should be ashamed of. We shouldn’t need help getting through something; we should be able to do it on our own. These societal expectations make those of us struggling feel completely alone. We feel like we are the only one experiencing something and it’s terrifying.

Through blogging I have become inspired. I feel less alone. I feel like what I am going through is normal and it’s okay to ask for help.

So this is a thank you to anyone who has been able to talk about their anxiety, depression, eating disorder or whatever it is you struggle with. Because I truly believe the more people are talking about this, the less loneliness there will be.

Today is a good day πŸ™‚

Β 

